History

It is in the History menu tab where you can go and investigate bugs with a skill’s Semantic Composition Language (SCL) code that you have permissions to. It is here that you can select the current modified by code and compare it line-by-line to a previously modified by code version. You have the option to make inline corrections to the current code version, or you can simply revert the entire current code back to any one of the previously modified by code versions that is listed inside the botlet’s History.

Purpose

As an example, we are using a scenario of a skill that is failing in the production site. The purpose of this particular scenario is to demonstrate the features of the History menu tab so that you will know how to investigate problems with a skill’s SCL code. Once you’ve identified the bug in the code, you can make the necessary corrections to it and then republish the skill back to the end users to ensure that is functioning properly.

After reading this article, you will have a general understanding of how to:

  • Use the Diff feature to make inline comparisons of the current modified by code with that of any of the previously modified by code versions listed inside the History.
  • Use the Revert feature on modified by code versions to roll back to a prior release of your choosing.

Contacting Support

If you encounter a technical issue and you require assistance, please send an e-mail message to:

kstore@microsoft.com

Skill Failure Scenario

You’ve created a skill, and it functions fine on your local machine. You’ve published your skill to a channel, and it worked fine the day it was deployed. A couple of weeks later, someone mentions to you that your skill is failing in the production site. You begin to wonder what has changed with the deployed skill. You know that you need to do some troubleshooting, and you also know that you must come up with a quick solution. So where do you begin?

Addressing Production Bugs

The information that follows will guide you through some general steps of how to address a bug with a skill that is deployed to a production site.

The recommended high-level steps that you should follow include:

  • Compare the self-version from the production version
  • Compare the current modified by code to that of a previously modified by code listed in the History
  • Make inline edits to the current modified by code or revert it completely back to a previous modified by version
  • Test your skill to ensure it works locally on your machine
  • Publish your skill back to the live-site and test its functionality to assure yourself that it is working as design.

Comparing Current and Previously Modified by Code

The following steps describe how to do a comparison (i.e., diff) on the current modified by SCL code and a previously modified by code that is listed in the skill’s History.

  1. In the Workspace Items Tree, select an organization that contains the skill that you want to view its modified code history.
  2. In the Control Panel, click the History menu tab.
alternate text
  1. Click the Modified by: “Current” in the history list.
alternate text
  1. Click a second Modified by: row, and then click Diff.
alternate text

Note: Refer to the date and time stamps to help you decide which previously modified by code versions that you want to compare.

Additional Information

As shown in the image below, the oldest modified version of the SCL code is displayed in red on the left-hand side of the Code Viewer. The current modified version of the code is displayed in green on the right-hand side of the Code Viewer.

alternate text

Reverting Modified Code Versions

To revert a skill’s current modified by code back to a previous modified by code version, refer to the steps below.

  1. Repeat steps 1 through 4 described in the previous section.
  2. Click Left-> to revert the current Modified by: version back to a previous Modified by: and click Revert.
alternate text
  1. Click Save, and then click Close.
alternate text

Note: The red dot in the History menu tab indicates that the reverted changes to the SCL code have not been saved. Ensure to click Save before closing or navigating away from the window.

This concludes the general steps of how to revert the current modified by code back to a previous modified by code version listed in the History.